Help with SQL code for IPA flow

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author
Messages
Brooks Saunders
New Member
Posts: 3
New Member
    Pulling in Data for use two fields.  Once I added the TRIM expression to the selection, I was receiving undefined when I reviewed my data in a text document.  If I leave the expressions out of the selection code, the fields are blank where I have null values (which is expected but I need to TRIM those fields).  Can anyone shed light to as why my COALESCE works for my POLINE.DESCRIPTION but does not work for APINVOICE.PO_NUMBER?  (Keep in mind ISNULL is not an expression IPA recognizes) ~Thanks

     

    SELECT  TO_CHAR ("APDISTRIB"."DISTRIB_DATE",'MM/DD/YYYY') as DISTRIB_DATE, TRIM("APDISTRIB"."INVOICE") as INVOICE, TO_CHAR("APINVOICE"."INVOICE_DTE",'MM/DD/YYYY') as INVOICE_DTE, TRIM("APINVOICE"."VENDOR") as VENDOR, TRIM(COALESCE("APINVOICE"."PO_NUMBER",'DIRECT INVOICE')) as PO_NUMBER, TRIM("APDISTRIB"."ACTIVITY") as ACTIVITY, "APDISTRIB"."DIS_ACCOUNT", TRIM("GHAPVENMAST"."VENDOR_VNAME")as VENDOR_VNAME, "APDISTRIB"."ORIG_TRAN_AMT", TRIM(COALESCE("POLINE"."DESCRIPTION",'DIRECT INVOICE')) as DESCRIPTION

     

    ;

    David Williams
    Veteran Member
    Posts: 1127
    Veteran Member
      You can't trim null fields, so it makes sense why you'd get an error. I believe the syntax to check for null values in JavaScript is
      if (PO_NUMBER===null) variable =""
      So on fields where a null might be possible, you need to add error trapping like this and reassign to a different variable.
      David Williams
      Woozy
      Veteran Member
      Posts: 709
      Veteran Member
        The coalesce should eliminate the null values, so I'm not sure why this is returning "null"/"undefined". What happens when you run that query in a "regular" SQL query tool? Maybe there is something goofy with your joins? How about posting the entire query rather than just the field section?

        Kelly
        Kelly Meade
        J. R. Simplot Company
        Boise, ID
        Woozy
        Veteran Member
        Posts: 709
        Veteran Member
          Also, what DB are you running?
          Kelly Meade
          J. R. Simplot Company
          Boise, ID
          Brooks Saunders
          New Member
          Posts: 3
          New Member

            Haven't ran this through SQL developer yet.  Our DB is Oracle. 

            Here is the full code:

            SELECT "APDISTRIB"."DISTRIB_DATE", "APDISTRIB"."INVOICE", "APINVOICE"."INVOICE_DTE", "APINVOICE"."VENDOR", TRIM(COALESCE("APINVOICE"."PO_NUMBER",'DIRECT INVOICE')) as PO_NUMBER, "APDISTRIB"."ACTIVITY", "APDISTRIB"."DIS_ACCOUNT", "GHAPVENMAST"."VENDOR_VNAME", "APDISTRIB"."ORIG_TRAN_AMT", TRIM(COALESCE("POLINE"."DESCRIPTION", 'DIRECT INVOICE')) as DESCRIPTION

             FROM   (("LAWPROD"."GHAPVENMAST" "GHAPVENMAST" INNER JOIN "LAWPROD"."APDISTRIB" "APDISTRIB" ON "GHAPVENMAST"."VENDOR"="APDISTRIB"."VENDOR") INNER JOIN "LAWPROD"."APINVOICE" "APINVOICE" ON (("APDISTRIB"."COMPANY"="APINVOICE"."COMPANY") AND ("APDISTRIB"."INVOICE"="APINVOICE"."INVOICE")) AND ("APDISTRIB"."REC_STATUS"="APINVOICE"."REC_STATUS")) FULL OUTER JOIN "LAWPROD"."POLINE" "POLINE" ON (("APDISTRIB"."COMPANY"="POLINE"."COMPANY") AND ("APDISTRIB"."PO_NUMBER"="POLINE"."PO_NUMBER")) AND ("APDISTRIB"."PO_LINE_NBR"="POLINE"."LINE_NBR")

             WHERE  ("APDISTRIB"."ACTIVITY" LIKE '8%' OR "APDISTRIB"."ACTIVITY" LIKE 'R%') AND ("APDISTRIB"."DISTRIB_DATE">={ts '2017-03-29 00:00:00'} AND "APDISTRIB"."DISTRIB_DATE"<{ts '2017-03-29 00:00:01'})

            TEXT DOCUMENT RESULT:

            FireGeek21
            Veteran Member
            Posts: 84
            Veteran Member
              Isn't the trim function in SQL RTRIM?
              Brooks Saunders
              New Member
              Posts: 3
              New Member

                "Posted By David Williams on 05/12/2017 9:05 AM
                You can't trim null fields, so it makes sense why you'd get an error. I believe the syntax to check for null values in JavaScript is
                if (PO_NUMBER===null) variable =""
                So on fields where a null might be possible, you need to add error trapping like this and reassign to a different variable."

                I am realizing that because the fields I am dealing with that contain blank data, once I introduce an expression like TRIM they return a null value instead of being blank.  What puzzles me is how to properly TRIM and get blank or null values as another value or to remain blank.

                FireGeek21
                Veteran Member
                Posts: 84
                Veteran Member
                  I typically use trim and other functions to format my data in assign nodes after the SQL. Each is then properly saved off in a variable that can be used later in the flow.
                  Woozy
                  Veteran Member
                  Posts: 709
                  Veteran Member
                    Hmmm - I'm not an Oracle guy, so maybe it's how Oracle handles trim/coalesce. I'd strongly suggest troubleshooting your query in a SQL tool first before putting it in IPA. Once it is returning the expected data, then move it to IPA. IPA will introduce some strangeness too - but at least you know the base query is OK.

                    As to the query itself, maybe you need to go with a CASE statement instead of trying to do everything in one step? This may help you get the result you are looking for.

                    Sorry I can't provide much more help.
                    Kelly Meade
                    J. R. Simplot Company
                    Boise, ID
                    Karen Sheridan
                    Veteran Member
                    Posts: 141
                    Veteran Member
                      We run into this all the time and I use a case statement.
                      Case when "APINVOICE"."PO_NUMBER" is Null then ' ' (space) else trim("APINVOICE"."PO_NUMBER") end as PO_NUMBER
                      or
                      Case when "APINVOICE"."PO_NUMBER" = ' ' then ' ' (space) else trim("APINVOICE"."PO_NUMBER") end as PO_NUMBER
                      This is Oracle.

                      There are lots of fields in Lawson that are stored as a single space verses a null.

                      Hope this helps,
                      Karen
                      Karen Sheridan
                      Veteran Member
                      Posts: 141
                      Veteran Member
                        Also you can try this:

                        Case when trim(field) is Null then.....
                        Bob Canham
                        Veteran Member
                        Posts: 217
                        Veteran Member
                          Since you're on oracle, you can use nvl to check null. trim(nvl(APINVOICE.PO_NUMBER,'')) so it will replace null with empty string and then trim it.
                          You are not authorized to post a reply.