Conversion from AS400 to WIndows

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author
    I have an older database from release 6.1 (I beleive) from the AS400, and I am backing all of the files off into CSV files. The next step will be to import the data into A newer Windows based version of Lawson. My client has not yet bought the new Lawson so I am not able to get any technical support from Lawson. My question is, is there a conversion tool that Lawson has that will take my CSV files from the old Lawson system and convert them to the newer Windows based Lawson files? If not, what is the best way to map the files and fields from the CSV files ot the new Lawson files? Also, besides the data files, are there any files, besides the normal LAWDBF database files that I need to be aware of and bring over as well. I am sure that since the system I am coming from is so old that there will probably not be a perfect file for file and field for field mapping. I am not a Lawson expert, I am just trying to help my client get their old data into a new Lawson system without a lot of headache, work or money for them.

Thanks in advance

Mike
    John Henley
      I would suggest you contact one of Lawson's partners, in particular CIBER, for some assistance in doing this. They may be able to help you do a table-to-table conversion via some of the upgrade programs in addition to the platform migration.

If that's not an option, you would need to dump all of the transactions, balance, master files, etc. into CSV from the 6.1 tables, and then reformat them to match the specs for the 8.x applications.
      Thanks for using the LawsonGuru.com forums!
      John
      mcurtis778